Voting for Democracy Medal extended to August 16

Nominations open for IAPC Democracy Medal
11 January 2013
Fast Politics: This year’s EAPC conference
26 September 2013

The IAPC is pleased to present the finalists for the 2013 Democracy Medal and extend voting by IAPC members until Friday, August 16.

These nominees feature two Prime Ministers from the region of this year’s World Conference and the President of Liberia’s Unity Party.

There are brief introductions to all nominees below.

To review the nominations and submit your vote, please visit the IAPC Democracy Medal webpage.

IAPC Democracy Medal

As a reminder, you must be logged in AND have paid your 2013 membership dues in order to vote. There are directions on the Medal webpage for renewing your membership.

Go to the Democracy Medal page and vote now! Extended voting ends Friday, August 16.

Nominee 1:

Kamla Persad-Bissessar
Portia Simpson-Miller
Prime Ministers, Government of Trinidad & Tobago / Jamaica

As Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago, in the 15 months she has spent in office, Ms. Persad-Bissessar has pioneered a number of revolutionary initiatives in the developing world.

Jamaican Prime Minister Simpson-Miller seeks to transform Jamaica into a Republic. She was named one of the World’s 100 most influential people by Time Magazine in 2012.

Nominee 2:

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
President, Unity Party, Liberia

By bringing stability, economic recovery and social progress to Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf showed that there is hope for nations like Liberia that were considered “broken states”.

Join Us