Kemal Kilicdaroglu (CHP, Turkey) - 2017 Nominee

Nominee info

Secular Opposition Leader

Nominated by

David D.Tosun
Thu 5th October 2017


President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has, over time, created an authoritarian regime that the Turkish people must oppose in order for their democracy to survive.

Teachers, journalists, judges and ordinary citizens lose their jobs or sit in prisons without cause. The majority of citizens live in fear. During these difficult times the only real opposition party in Turkey, the CHP, and their leader Kemal Kilicdaroglu, have launched an initiative that received worldwide recognition and respect: The March for Justice from Ankara to Istanbul. Inspired by Kemal Kilicdaroglu’s example of peaceful protest against Erdogan’s encroaching dictatorship, hundreds of thousands of Turkish citizens joined the march, in a resounding cry for justice in their country.

By awarding the Democracy Medal to Kemal Kilicdaroglu, the IAPC can demonstrate that it stands with the citizens of Turkey in their effort to make Turkey a true democracy once again.

Mr. Kemal Kilicdaroglu was nominated by following IAPC members: Sepp Hartinger (Austria), Volker Riegger (Germany),
Igor Mintusov (Russia), Jon Gaul (Australia), Faye Diamond (USA), Greg Diamond (USA), Necati Ozkan (Turkey) and David Tosun (Turkey).

Links of interest