democracy award

Each year at its annual conference, the International Association of Political Consultants awards its Democracy Medal to an individual or organization who, in the judgment of its membership, has worked courageously to foster, promote and sustain the democratic process anywhere in the world.

The Democracy Medal was awarded for the first time at the 1982 IAPC Berlin Conference.

A burnished rendering of the Acropolis is etched in relief on the face of the large bronze medal. The back side contains the engraved name of the recipient and the year it was given. Appropriately, the certificate which accompanies the Medal includes this universally recognized definition of democracy.

The 2017 Democracy Medal winner will be announced in November.


Previous Medal Award Winners

2016  Committee To Protect Journalist
2015  Leopoldo Lopez
2014  Ben Goddard
2013  Co-Winners: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (Trinidad & Tobago); Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller (Jamaica)
2012  Presidents George H.W. Bush & Bill Clinton
2011  The Arab Spring
2010  Morgan Tsvangirai, Prime Minister of Zimbabwe
2009  Dr. Mir Hossein Mousavi, Iranian Prime Minister
2008  Datuk Seri Anwar bin Ibrahim, Former Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia
2007  The People of Indonesia
2006  Evelyn Dubrow, Director Emeritus IAPC
2005  Viktor Yushchenko, President of Ukraine
2004  Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Founder National Association in Support of Children’s Rights, Iran
2003  Joe Napolitan & Michel Bongrand, Founding members of the IAPC
2002  Morgan Tsvangirai, Chairman, Movement of Democratic Change, Zimbabwe
2001  Hugo Banzer, President of Bolivia
2000  George Mitchell, Former US Senator
1999  Milo Djukanovic, President of the Republic of Montenegro
1998  Martin Lee, Chairman, Hong Kong Democratic Party
1997  International Foundation for Election Systems
1996  Yitzhak Rabin (posthumous), Prime Minister of Israel
1995  Aung San Suu Kyi, National Leauge for Democracy in Mayarmar
1994  Jimmy Carter, Former President of the U.S.
1993  F. W. de Klerk, State President, Republic of South Africa And Nelson Mandela, President, African National Congress
1992  Hans-Dietrich Genscher, 18 years Foreign Minister
1991  Boris Yeltsin, President of the Russian Republic
1990  Vaclav Havel, President of Czechoslovakia
1989  Mikhail Gorbachev, President of USSR
1988  No Medal awarded
1987  Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister of Great Britain
1986  Corazon Aquino, President of the Philippines
1985  Willy Brandt, Chancellor of West Germany
1984  Raul Alfonsin, President of Argentina
1983  Raoul Wallenberg, Swedish diplomat
1982  Lech Walesa, Polish Solidarity leader