Aung San Suu Kyi Receives IAPC Democracy Award 22 Years Later

Iceland Conference 2017
23 February 2017
EAPC’s 22nd Annual Conference
16 May 2017

Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar:  Today, Aung San Suu Kyi of Myanmar received her certificate and bronze medal for the International Association of Political Consultants’ (IAPC) Democracy Award which she won in 1995.

Dr. Suu Kyi was awarded the Democracy Medal in 1995 however, the organization was unable to present it to her because of her house arrest during that time. Today, former president Rick Ridder and IAPC member Joannie Braden presented the award certificate and bronze medal to Dr. Suu Kyi in a ceremony in the Myanmar capital. 

Upon the presentation, Mr Ridder read the following:

Each year at its annual conference, the International Association of Political Consultants awards its Democracy Medal to an individual or organization who, in the judgment of its membership, has worked courageously to foster, promote and sustain the democratic process anywhere in the world.

A burnished rendering of the Acropolis is etched in relief on the face of the large bronze medal. The back side contains the engraved name of the recipient and the year it was given. Appropriately, the certificate which accompanies the Medal includes this universally recognized definition of democracy.

In 1995, the Democracy medal was awarded to Aung Son Suu Kyi by the members of the IAPC. But circumstances  prevented the presentation the medal at that time. Today on behalf the members of the IAPC, former president Bo Krogvig of Sweden, and current president Nancy Todd of the USA, I am pleased to present the Democracy Medal of the IAPC to Aung Son Suu Kyi of Myanmar 22 years later.

Dr. Suu Kyi in thanking the members of the IAPC reiterated her commitment to furthering democracy and free and fair elections. “It is a long road” she explained. 

Join Us